top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureColeen Wiratma

The first job offer that I turned down



Two weeks ago I got a very rare job offer that a fresh grad like me could ever have. An owner of a school talked to me telling if I can work for them as the head of their high school department. At first there was a moment of silence. But without any second thought I rejected the offer. Makes you wonder, right? (even I at first)


My parents got mad at me and, of course, that’s but normal. I remembered my old self eleven months ago and at the same time I think of what I have become. I evaluated myself if where did I get the gut to turn down that kind of offer.


Way back eleven months, I can describe myself as a desperate fresh grad who’s looking for a good teaching opportunity, who’s excited to experience employment and who’s very willing to practice her profession.


As I evaluate myself, I… just… wanna cry *tears of joy*. I turned down the offer because I’ve already grown as an individual. I’ve turned into something I really can’t explain. All I know is I’ve become more matured in decision making and in life. I could say “Finally! I already know my worth.”


I know this is just the beginning. I believe there’s more opportunities to come. I feel happy of having no regrets at all because of being deeply in love with what I’m doing right now. I love how the Lord changed my life into something I never dreamed of. And that’s what matters to me. I know my worth so I would never settle for less.


There’s more to life!


Cheers! :)


(Wayback 2014)

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page