top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureColeen Wiratma

The Donut-like Viand

It's been a month of being married yet and my husband keeps on requesting this recipe that I discovered through the internet right after our wedding.

From his more than 20x requests of it I just fed him twice yet; meaning I cooked this food twice already in just a span of 30-31 days. I forgot the name of the dish but it's onion rings and cheese wrapped with bacon. If you're a meat lover, you'll gonna love to have it for your main dish. And if you're a mommy, you can serve this food for your kids as their merienda.



There are only 5 easy steps to make it. Prepare all the following ingredients: • Salt • Pepper (optional) • Oil (for deep fry) • White onion/s (You can make 5-6 circles of serving in 1 onion.) • Bacon • Cheese (Eden, etc.) • Egg/s (the number depends on how many onion rings you are going to make) • Bead crumbs • toothpick (optional)



First step, have a pair of big and small onion rings (the big one will serve as your base and the small onion rings will be placed on the inside). Cut the cheese into sticks and put it in the middle by following the ring shape of the onions then wrap it round with bacon. You can make use of toothpick for the bacon if you're having a hard time to connect it. Actually this is the most challenging part for me especially during my first time to do it. But on my second time I didn't have a hard time anymore.



Second, beat an egg into the bowl, put salt and pepper (optional, just to make the taste richer) and mix it. Dip the finished onion rings side by side in it and by doing so it can help you to let the bacon connected if you will not use toothpick.



Third, after dipping it in a bowl of egg put bread crumbs around it.



Fourth, deep fry. Wait until its color turns to golden brown.



Fifth, mix a ketchup and mayonnaise for dipping (optional) or use anything that you prefer then serve it.



You can have it as merienda/snacks or ulam/viand. I spend P184.75 for this recipe. Not bad for a unique, dainty and creative meal for your family (at least just to keep them not to get used from your usual menu).

I assure you it can make you full and you'll definitely put it on your list of favorites just like what my husband and I did!


PS. I would love to hear your own experience about this recipe. :)

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page