top of page
Search

HAIR and COMFORT ZONE

Updated: Apr 6, 2018



It was my 3rd day in the industry when I abruptly decided to get a haircut. I never disturbed anyone nor ask their opinion about what I was going to do. (Because you know some girls used to ask: “When I get a haircut will I still look pretty?”, “Can I manage a short hair?”, “To cut or not to cut?”) Why do they ask others first before going after what they want? Because of fear. They fear because they doubt themselves that they won’t be able to stand on it or that they won’t look good anymore. Every girl has that side anyway, except for me.


Before, having my black long hair was very comforting. I always feel good about myself. I don’t worry too much if I gain weight because my long hair can help me not to look fat. I also don’t have problems like having fly away hair. What I only dislike on having a long hair are the combing part and shampooing. (Somewhat hassle.)


When mom knew that I was about to get a haircut, she tried to stop me but I told her "I got this” and I was decided. I also never bothered posting anything about it. (I believe I don’t have to divulge everything that’s going on in my life especially if it won’t have bearing to others for it won’t make any sense at all.) I could be very random at times because I love experimenting in life! You know what? For once in your life, you gotta be brave to stand on your own when you know you’re capable enough on handling simple and little things like this one.




So I went to salon and got a shoulder level haircut. (The last time I had that kind of haircut was when I was 4.) I feel good! I feel lighter. I feel like I was the most confident woman in the world! I don’t care if I look fat. I don’t care if I don’t look good. I don’t care if others will love it or if they’re gonna praise me or not. I don’t care what will people say as long as I do no harm to them.


As they say, struggle is real. Yeah, I must admit, it’s hard to manage a short hair and deal with the fly away thing. Haha! But I love it because I was challenged! And oh, combing and shampooing became my most favourite part!


I started to feel uncomfortable when my hair was getting long again so I try to have it ponytailed but I can’t include all the strands because they differ in length. Since I wasn’t able to do anything about it, I just let it fly away. HA HA HA. (At least, my life’s not boring!)

The next thing I did was to get a hair colour. I actually don’t wanna add hassle in my life but this one must be different. I gotta try it so I would know how it feels and what to do with a hair that has colour. I hated this thing so much because I don’t find it okay when the original colour of the hair began to show up. Hehe. But I still go for it anyway! (Of course, mom tried to stop me again.)















As you can perceive, I have gathered some of my pictures with different hair lengths and compiled it in collages. I did it to see how patient I have been in dealing outside my comfort zone. It’s been almost a year now since I went out of it when it comes to hair thing. It wasn’t easy at first but I began to like it. I have tried curling my short hair, I did pigtails, putting ribbons and headbands and ponytails and other stuffs. I enjoyed it! I have learned to enjoy and embrace the process.


How will you be able to make big decision and stand on it if you can’t handle small and simple things? The best time to start is now! You have to start now! Do it little by little. Begin with little things. That’s why nowadays, I wonder no more if I can easily handle bigger things because I have learnt how to manage the small ones.


Don’t be a coward in making decisions about the simplest things on earth! I had just turned 21 by then. But whatever your age is, it doesn’t matter. Know what you want and go for it! Get out of your comfort zone! Learn from it! Be brave! Explore! And learn to make a decision for yourself about the small and simplest details of your life! You will love it, I’m telling you.


After all, comfort zone is a VERY nice place but nobody grows there. Yes, “nobody”.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page